About TBAG

Tempe Bicycle Action Group is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization working to make bicycling a prominent, safe and convenient form of transportation and recreation in Tempe, Arizona and surrounding areas through education, grassroots events, and civic participation.

Our objectives are to:

  • Collaborate with the City of Tempe and neighboring communities to enable bicycling as a prominent, safe and convenient form of everyday transportation and recreation.
  • Cooperate with other bicycle and alternative transportation entities.
  • Provide an online knowledge base for regional cycling information such as, commuting routes, group ride opportunities, bicycling events, cycling organizations, etc.
  • Represent the interests of cyclists in local, regional and state government
  • Organize and promote grassroots cycling events.
  • Partner with local employers to develop policies and infrastructure to encourage their workforce to bicycle commute.
  • Promote the bicycle as a a tool for creating a sustainable community

TBAG aims to coordinate Tempe area cyclists to speak with a unified voice on bicycle related issues. We work closely with the City of Tempe to provide feedback on bicycle infrastructure, transportation planning activities, and to lobby City Council and the Mayor on issues of importance to cyclists.

Some of the events and programs we do include:
- Free bicycle valet at downtown Tempe events
- Recognition and promotion of bicycle friendly businesses
- Expanded Tempe Bike Week and Bike To Work Day
- Work with organizations to organize and lead rides
- A bike lights and other essential cycling accessories (e.g. locks) program to encourage bicycling for transportation.
- Training courses on bicycle safety and commuting.

Keep an eye on our blog for the latest on what we are up to.


Contact TBAG:

info@biketempe.org

PO BOX 1884
Tempe, AZ 85280

Board of Directors:

President: Patrick Valandra (valandra@biketempe.org)
Public Relations: Sarah Mason (sarah@biketempe.org)
Advocacy: Scott Walters (scrottie@biketempe.org)
Art & Events: Bill Terrance (bill@biketempe.org)
Treasurer: Denise Johnson (denise@biketempe.org)
Board Member: Shamus Burns (shamus@biketempe.org)
Adult Education: Ben Nyer (ben@biketempe.org)
Board Member: Patrick Carlson (rideon@biketempe.org)
Adviser to Public Art and Special Projects: Eric Iwersen (eric@biketempe.org)
Adviser: Joseph Perez (joe@biketempe.org)
Adviser: Ryan Guzy (ryan@biketempe.org)
Adviser: Jeremy Deathrage (jeremy@biketempe.org)

Project Leaders:

Bike Valets:  Bill Terrance (bill@biketempe.org)
Events Coordinator: Bill Terrance (bill@biketempe.org)
Rides Coordinator: Ben Nyer (ben@biketempe.org)
Adult Education: Ben Nyer (ben@biketempe.org)
Awareness Committee: Scott Walters (scrottie@biketempe.org)
Advocacy Director: Scott Walters (scrottie@biketempe.org)
Bike Count Project Manager: Scott Walters (scrottie@biketempe.org)
Bike Count Principle Investigator: Cliff Anderson
Webmaster: Sarah Mason (sarah@biketempe.org)
Street Team: Stevie (stevie@biketempe.org)
Bike Racks Project manager: Denise Johnson (denise@biketempe.org)

Past Board Members:

Joseph Perez (joe@biketempe.org)
Ryan Cook (rcook@biketempe.org)
Dee Kuijer-Watts(dee@biketempe.org)
Mark Tauber (mark.tauber@biketempe.org)
Ryan Guzy (ryan@biketempe.org)
Jeremy Deathrage (jeremy@biketempe.org)
Ashley Lanoue (ashley@biketempe.org)
Aaron Golub (aaron@biketempe.org)
Mark Neff (mark@biketempe.org)
Kate Darby (kate@biketempe.org)
Scott Nowicki (scott@biketempe.org)
Stan Klonowski (stan@biketempe.org)
Chris Crosby (chris@biketempe.org)
Tom Tomczyk (tom@biketempe.org)
Sam Bollinger (sam@biketempe.org)

BYLAWS:
Bylaws of the Tempe Bicycle Action Group, an Arizona NonProfit Corporation

3 Responses to “About TBAG”
  1. [...] Tempe Bicycle Action Group: This nonprofit organization strives to make bicycling a prominent and safe form of transportation and recreation in Tempe, Arizona and other surrounding areas. They promote their efforts through education, grassroot events and also civic participation. Several upcoming events that they plan to participate in include the Tour de Fat, Pedal Craft Phoenix, Loops Ride and the Papago Peddler. [...]

  2. [...] Tempe Bicycle Action Group: This nonprofit organization strives to make bicycling a prominent and safe form of transportation and recreation in Tempe, Arizona and other surrounding areas. They promote their efforts through education, grassroot events and also civic participation. Several upcoming events that they plan to participate in include the Tour de Fat, Pedal Craft Phoenix, Loops Ride and the Papago Peddler. [...]

  3. […] with other Tempe and ASU bike organizations. For instance, the coalition has already partnered with The Tempe Bicycle Action Group on half-a-dozen projects and holds almost sister-club status with the ASU Cycling Team and the […]

  4.